Before heading down to the Public Health Dept., I decided to bus to downtown a bit early and take some pictures. My boyfriend got me a Canon Rebel T3i for Christmas and have been dying to use it downtown! I’m pretty sad it was a gloomy day in Seattle, but that’sย Seattle for you. Here are some pics I snapped!

Image

Image

Image

This quarter I am working with refugee families and educating them on infection control. Primarily on, simple hand-washing techniques and tips on how to keep yourself healthy from the flu during this winter season. Growing up, my mom and I came to the United States as immigrants. We were issued numbers and seen by the government as “aliens.” I was too young to remember if ever having a green card, but probably did because I didn’t become a US citizen until I was in 5th grade or something. I remember my parents working hard to find work and to assimilate into the American culture. Besides infection control education, these families work with case workers and get connected with a whole bunch of other resources. They set them up with transportation, medical coupons, free health care services, doctor appointments, free housing for a year, and so much more. Working with these refugee families has really hit close to home for me and it gives me so much hope that there are services available for these families.

Enjoy! โค

Dorothy

 

