One of my dearest friends got married to the love of her life in the most beautiful place in the world, Hawaii! I’ve never traveled alone to a place unknown, but decided to face my fears. Also, because it was for my friend’s big day ❀ In this blog, I’m here to share my experiences and traveling tips going solo to HI.

I booked a roundtrip ticket from Seattle, WA -> Kahului, HI -> Oahu, HI -> Seattle, WA for around $535.97. (I found tickets for $475.00 earlier on, but didn’t act on it fast enough… sigh). I spent 3 nights in Maui and 3 nights in Oahu to visit my friend Lyndsey (: Since I was going alone, I tried to make each day busy, filled with some type of tour or activity so I wasn’t cooped up in my hotel room.

I hate to admit it, but I am a princess when it comes to hotels. Since the hotel prices in Hawaii were expensive, I couldn’t be so picky. Especially since it was just me, I didn’t want to spend a lot of money on a room that I wasn’t going to spend a lot of time in. Since I bought my tickets through Expedia, they offered a hotel discount if I booked at least two days after I bought my airfare.

After the day of my friend’s wedding, I booked a tour through Mahalo Tours to do the Road to Hana. A tour that was 12 hours long that went around the whole island. Brutal, but so worth the sights! The tour guides were locals and were so friendly. They treated me like ohana! I paid a little more extra through this tour because of the great reviews from other tourists. It was a smaller group of people, it was a much more comfortable bus to be on, they provided fresh fruits for snacks, it included lunch at one of the best BBQ places in Hana, and the tour guides were awesome.

IMG_2589
Wai’anapanapa State Park (the endless coastlines had me speechless)

IMG_2604
These pretty flowers that smell amazing once you squeeze them!

IMG_2621
Near the end of the Road to Hana

IMG_2628
Waimea Canyon – Maui’s “Grand Canyon”
The Road to Hana was unbelievable. I was afraid of going alone because of what others thought of me, but my whole group was filled with super cute couples that were celebrating 40 or 50 years of love! They made me feel very welcomed and didn’t think indifferent of me. I was happy to take their pictures at every place we stopped at too.

Watching one of my closest friends get married in such a beautiful place was amazing. I cried during every part of it – walking to the venue, the ceremony, the reception, the first dance, etc. I’m so glad that I ventured out by myself to witness such a selfless act ❀

58
Maui Sunset – that started off the night of my friend’s wedding!
In Oahu, I stayed at an Airbnb with a lovely family with an adorable 1 year old. I watched the sunset for the first two days at Ala Moana (the beach near my Airbnb) and my very last day near Waikiki Beach. Catching sunsets and sunrises were a crazy thing for me. Being a Seattleite, there are very few moments of seeing any sunlight because of it being so grey all the time…

My friend Lydnsey showed me all around Oahu! She picked me up around 4:30am to grab some McDonalds before we hiked up the Lanikai Pillbox Trail. Also, by the way… EGGS, RICE, PORTUGUESE SAUSAGE, AND SPAM FOR BREAKFAST?! I wish that was a thing on the mainland. Anyway, we went to Waikiki Beach where we swam and sun bathed, got some shaved ice at Waiola, malasadas at Leonard’s bakery, and hot pot at Sweet Home Cafe.

What a life it was for the past six days. Sun, beaches, amazing food (especially the poke from Foodland), the nicest people, and especially meeting up with my friends in a place I’ve only seen pictures of!

89.jpg
Sunset at Ala Moana Beach

94
Lanikai Pillbox Sunrise Hike

96
The view on top of the Lanikai Pillbox

101
Diamond Head
Overall total = $1,318.78

  • Airfare = $535.97
  • Hotel (Maui) + Airbnb (Oahu) = $484.32
  • Road to Hana = $139.53
  • Car Rental = $158.96

If you haven’t thought about it before, rent a car from Costco if you have a membership. I received a great rate for $15.06/day, but since I am under 25 years old, I got charged with a $75 young renters fee :/

I brought about $150-$200 for food, shopping, and souvenirs. So, for just about $1,500…I was able to do a whole lot! Unfortunately, since I packed only a carry on I couldn’t bring back boxes of macadamia chocolates. I think that the pricey thing about Hawaii, is getting yourself there. However, a lot of the activities around the island like scuba diving, sightseeing, snorkeling, luas, etc, are very affordable.

Traveling will be the most rewarding thing you ever do. Even if you go solo, you learn a lot more about yourself. You become more independent and find yourself empowering. When you are surrounded by sights you’ve never seen before and realize how beautiful the rest of the world is… You realize that there is so much more to life than work and bills. Life is a much greater journey and there are more places to get yourself lost in.

12208429_10153211101567876_129103465689225094_n.jpg

