Besides Christmas, I’ve been having a pretty rough week. I left work early last Monday because I was absolutely miserable. Migraine. Body aches. Chills. Fatigue. Sore throat. Enlarged lymph nodes. I was a mess. I went to the doctor’s the next day and was diagnosed with either mono or strep throat – both highly contagious. I forced myself to be on strict bed rest because I wanted to be well by Christmas Eve which was in two days!

After a course of antibiotics, I felt alive again. A week after getting sick, I was back to my normal life. I was driving on the freeway making a steep turn when one of my tires blew out. The back of my car fish tailed and I spun myself into a ditch on the side of the road. I was shaking and a million things were going through my head. How am I going to get to work this week? Who am I suppose to call now? How am I going to get my car out of this ditch?

However, I took a deep breath. I took another. I was breathing. I was thankful to be alive and that nobody around me was involved. I’m so blessed to have friends and family that care ❤ God was truly by my side that morning.

Be thankful to be employed, even though you may not enjoy what you do. Be thankful for a roof over your head because some wait for hours in line for a place to sleep. Even though your family may be dysfunctional or separated, be thankful to have one no matter what size. Your car may not be luxurious, but be thankful that you’re able to get to point A to B. Life isn’t easy because it is suppose to be filled with challenges. So, be thankful when you wake up in the morning. Be thankful for the brand new day to create something more out of this beautiful thing called life.

