I always admired those who cared for sick children. I believe that working with kids it is rewarding, but at the same time very difficult. It takes a lot sometimes to hold back tears that are on the rim of your waterline when you empathize with a patient and a family. There are times where I find myself stressed out about something so small in comparison to what my patient and their families deal with every single day. This realization makes me stop worrying, to take a deep breath, and to be thankful for the countless blessings that God has given me.

There was a day that I met a teenager who had a condition of recurrent venous malformations in his lower extremity. Instead of coming in and having the malformation excised, the decision was made to have a below-the-knee amputation. As I was talking to the surgeon performing the surgery, I expressed my feelings of how making a decision like this as a teenager would be not only difficult, but truly life changing. When I was a teenager, I was very self-conscious. I cared so much about what other people thought about me and was bullied about my appearance. I couldn’t imagine what it would be like to be in that child’s place in life when I was their age. The surgeon told me, “Don’t be sad. This kid is super excited! After realizing his options of maintaining these malformations were not definite cures, he decided why not do something that is.”

The kids that I meet every day are some of the bravest people I have ever met. It amazes me every single time that even though they are battling through their own personal battles, they are still kids who want to play, smile, jump, and laugh. Just like any kid should behave (: I have also learned throughout all of my patient care experiences that every encounter has helped me grow as a person and to become a better nurse.

